Area 5 Proficiency Contest Unveiled on Sept 7th.

Area 5 Proficiency Contest
Official Rules
One of the three lanes of the updated Vision 2020 plan set forth at the 157th Annual Communication is excellence is esoteric work. In the 2012-2013 Grand Lodge year, only 13 proficiency cards were issued for the entire State of Kansas. The Area 5 Proficiency Contest was begun to promote interest in obtaining proficiency cards in the Area 5 Lodges, and to add a bit of friendly competition between Lodges in the process. The prize is a six foot tall championship trophy to commemorate the winning Lodge’s achievement.
The scoring system is as follows:
“B” Proficiency Card 100 Points
“A” Proficiency Card 200 Points
“Master’s” Proficiency Card 300 Points
“Unlimited” Proficiency Card 500 Points
Proficiencies earned from the close of the 157th Annual Communication on March 16, 2013 to the opening of the 158th Annual Communication on March 21st, 2014 are eligible. Entry forms are due to the Area Deputy Grand Master by the opening gavel of the 158th Annual Communication, either by electronic means or in person. Copies of all proficiency cards earned should accompany entry forms.
The total point score for the Lodge shall be the sum of the point values for all proficiency cards earned by Brothers who are on your official roster as a member of your Lodge. Brothers who hold membership in more than one Lodge, or Plural membership, may only have contest points in one Lodge. A Lodge’s total score will be divided by the number of members of that Lodge, as published in the Advanced Report of the 158th Annual Communication (this is to give large and small Lodges a more equal opportunity to participate). The Lodge with the highest quotient will be deemed the winner. In the event of a tie, the winner will be decided by a coin toss.
The Championship Trophy will be awarded at the 158th Annual Communication.